CU Symphony - The Planets

  • University Orchestra

By Gustav Holst

Holst’s dramatic orchestral suite explores the myth and magic of the Solar System and the gods of Rome.  

The program will be accompanied by awe-inspiring, multi-media NASA imagery of Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. The CU Symphony will perform this beloved work, accompanied by former NASA astronaut Joseph Tanner, senior instructor in Aerospace Engineering Sciences at CU-Boulder, who will introduce each piece with the latest scientific information about each of the planets.

A world premiere of CU-Boulder Composer Carter Pann's work The Dutch Stonewall featuring collaborative pianists Margaret McDonald and Alexandra Nguyen rounds out the program.

Gary Lewis, counductor
Margaret McDonald, piano
Alexandra Nguyen, piano
Joseph Tanner, narrator 

Macky Auditorium • Directions & ParkingSeating (PDF)
  • Season tickets (Classics Series, Choice Option)
  • Single tickets start at $10